Kane County DUI/DWI Defense Lawyer
Illinois Ignition Interlock Law
Have you been charged with a DUI in the Kane County, Illinois, area? In some DUI convictions, aside from other potential fines and even jail time, the individual may be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on his or her car. This is known more specifically as the BAIID (Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device). In order to get the vehicle to start, the driver must blow into a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) meter. Unless the BAC level is at or below a required maximum, the vehicle will not start.
DWI Arrests in Kane County, Illinois
DUI laws and penalties in Illinois, including court-ordered BAIID can be complex as it all depends on the specific situation and any past-DUI convictions. Especially if you are a repeat-DUI offender, it is imperative that your attorney is extremely knowledgeable and skilled in Illinois DUI defense.
My name is Brian J. Mirandola. I am an experienced Elgin DUI defense attorney. With more than a decade of experience, I have focused my entire legal career on criminal law matters. When you need a defense attorney with exceptional negotiation and trial skills for Illinois DUI charges, immediately contact me at my Elgin, Illinois, law office. I offer free initial consultations.
What Is Ignition Interlock?
Not every DUI charge may require a BAIID. However, it is important to understand all potential consequences. That is where my extensive knowledge of Illinois DUI laws and penalties comes in as an advantage. The more informed you are and the more prepared your attorney is, the better your chances of a successful outcome.
Examples of circumstances in which a BAIID would be mandated include:
- An individual with a Restricted Driving Permit as the result of two or more DUI convictions or reckless homicide convictions.
- An individual with a Restricted Driving Permit as the result of a DUI conviction or reckless homicide conviction and at least one SSS (Statutory Summary Suspension) within the last 10 years.
- An individual with two or more DUI convictions resulting in a revoked driver's license.
Every time the driver of the vehicle wants to start the engine, he or she must blow into the device and register a .025 BAC or lower. In the event the driver blows three times within 30 minutes, and is at a .025 BAC or higher, the car will automatically lock down for 24 hours. This is to prevent the driver from driving intoxicated. It is important to understand the implications of a BAIID. Consult with me today about your specific situation.
Contact a Skilled Elgin DUI Defense Attorney
Learn more about ignition interlock device laws and whether they may apply to your particular situation. Contact my office today to schedule a free initial consultation about your Illinois DUI charge. I represent clients in Elgin, Aurora, and communities throughout Kane County and the surrounding areas of the Chicago, Illinois region.