The Law Office of Brian J. Mirandola


47 DuPage Court, Elgin, IL 60120

Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in Elgin driver's license reinstatement lawyer

Kane County License Reinstatement Attorney

One mistake can seriously impact not only an individual, but also the livelihood of their entire family. Illinois state law allows for driver’s license suspension or revocation for a wide variety of infractions, some of which have nothing to do with actual driving habits. Most people do not realize the importance of a valid driver’s license is until it is gone.

Reinstatement can be costly, which leaves many Illinois residents without driving privileges long after the suspension period ends. Find out how you can get your privileges back via the options below:

Pay the Required Fees

Most residents choose to wait out the required suspension or revocation period patiently. Once the designated term passes, a fee is due, along with other potential requirements. Current possible fees include:

  • Discretionary suspension: $70.
  • Family responsibility: $70.
  • Field sobriety suspension: $250.
  • Statutory summary suspension (first offense): $250.
  • Statutory summary suspension (repeat offense): $500.

Communicate With the Court

With more serious offenses, the amount due to reinstate a license can be in the thousands of dollars. This might be because of multiple offenses, unpaid tickets, or other events that contribute to an unpayable amount. 

There may be another option. Every judge and court is different, but in some situations, a reduction of fees is possible. Another possibility is the arrangement of a payment plan. This might include an additional interest charge or convenience fee, but the extra expense is often minor if it means the return of driving privileges. Lastly, some judges may work out a deal to exchange community service hours in place of payment.

Call a Kane County Criminal Defense Attorney

If you currently face the loss of your license, there are ways to avoid that and the subsequent reinstatement fee. An Elgin driver’s license reinstatement attorney can help find the best option for your situation. Everyone makes mistakes, and we believe one lapse in judgment should not affect the rest of your life. Attorney Brian J. Mirandola has more than 20 years of experience in criminal law, including seven as an assistant prosecutor, which gives him unique strategic insight. Let us help minimize the possible negative impact on your future. Call us today at 847-488-0889 to schedule a free consultation.


Last modified on

reinstatement, Elgin criminal defense attorneyIf you have been charged with drunk driving, reckless driving, or any other moving violation that resulted in the suspension or revocation of your driver’s license, your day-to-day life is likely to be severely affected. Not only will a person whose driver’s license is suspended need to make alternative travel plans—for him- or herself and for any children he or she may have —but also will need to begin the long process of driver’s license reinstatement. There are several things you should know about this process before you begin that can make it easier and progress more smoothly. The first is that it getting your license back is much easier with the assistance of a qualified legal professional.

Financial Costs

Even working with an attorney, driver’s license reinstatement is a costly process that can also often mean significant time spent wading through bureaucratic red tape. No matter the offense for which the license was suspended, the driver will first be subject to a $250 reinstatement fee paid to the Secretary of State. A portion of this—$30—goes to the Department of Health and Human Services to help cover the cost of alcohol and substance abuse programs for repeat driving offenders. If you are one of these repeat offenders, the fine is doubled to have the license reinstated; that is, if you have had your license suspended before, again, for any reason, not just alcohol-related charges, you will be subject to a $500 reinstatement fee. In this case, $60 of the fee is allocated for drunk and drugged prevention programs.

Alcohol and Drug Evaluation

Just because a person has his or her license reinstated, however, does not mean that he or she is legally allowed to drive—particularly if the license was suspended due to a drunk or drugged driving incident. To have driving privileges reinstated is another process entirely. If a person is convicted of a drunk driving charge, he or she must first undergo an alcohol or drug evaluation before driving privileges will be reinstated. If a problem is indicated in this evaluation, the person will then need to submit proof that he or she is in a treatment program. Even if such a program is not required, the person will still need to complete an alcohol or drug remedial education program offered by the state. If the person is a repeat offender, he or she is subject to a $50 filing fee to have the license reinstated after undergoing these programs.

Responsible Legal Guidance

If you or someone you know has been subject to a license suspension, the most important step is to seek legal counsel. Contact an Elgin license reinstatement attorney today for a free consultation. Call The The Law Office of Brian J. Mirandola at 847-488-0889.


Last modified on

Posted on in DUI

evaluation, kane county DUI lawyerWhen you have been arrested on charges of driving under the influence, there are a number of factors that will influence the severity of your sentence and your ability to drive again in the future. In most case, the penalties for a DUI conviction will include the revocation of your driving privileges for at least one year for first-time offenders, with much longer revocations possible for repeat offenders. Once your driver’s license has been revoked, it is possible to get your license reinstated, but getting back on the road can be long, tough journey with many requirements with which you must comply.


Before you will qualify for license reinstatement—or even for a restricted driving permit—you will be required to undergo an alcohol and drug evaluation with an approved, licensed provider. The purpose of the evaluation is to analyze your use or dependence on alcohol or drugs and to establish the risk—if any—you present to public safety. Your evaluation will include:

  • A review of your driving history;
  • Blood-alcohol content (BAC) test results;
  • A standardized Objective Test in the appropriate category; and
  • An interview with the evaluator.

The interview will focus on your past and present relationship with drugs and alcohol and how it relates to your driving record and abilities. Any responses that you give will be verified by a review of your driving history, test results, and, possibly, court records. If there are any discrepancies, you will need to reconcile them with the evaluator. Failure to do so will invalidate the evaluation leading to a denial of the reinstatement of your license or a requirement for you to undergo and pay for another evaluation.

Risk Levels

Evaluators are screened and trained by the Illinois Department of Human Services, Division of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse. Based on the results of your evaluation, your risk level will be classified as:

  • Minimal risk;
  • Moderate risk;
  • Significant risk; and
  • High risk.

Each classification carries with it increasingly demanding requirements for alcohol and substance abuse education and treatment. These recommendations are provided to the Office of the Secretary of State, and must usually be completed before your driver’s license will be reinstated.

Work With a Knowledgeable Lawyer

If you are working toward getting your driving privileges reinstated, the assistance of an experienced Kane County license reinstatement attorney can be invaluable. Contact The Law Office of Brian J. Mirandola today to schedule your free consultation and find out how we can help you get back on the road sooner than you may have thought possible.


Last modified on
Avvo Illinois State Bar Association Kane COunty Bar Association
Back to Top