The Law Office of Brian J. Mirandola

CALL FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

47 DuPage Court, Elgin, IL 60120

847-488-0889

IL defense lawyerIn 2015, the state of Illinois made the act of distributing “revenge porn” a felony offense. This crime is when a person distributes private, intimate photos and videos without permission of the person in the images.

Illinois amended the Civil Remedies for Nonconsensual Dissemination of Private Sexual Images Act - which covers revenge porn - so that victims of revenge porn can collect compensation starting the first of 2020.

What is Revenge Porn?

Typically, revenge porn occurs after a nasty breakup. One ex-partner unlawfully sends intimate material from their ex-partner in order to get back at them for the breakup. According to national statistics, 90 percent of revenge porn victims are female.

Under Illinois’s Civil Remedies for Nonconsensual Dissemination of Private Sexual Images Act, revenge porn includes pictures and/or videos of:

  • Sexual acts with a partner or solo
  • Exposure of a person’s intimate body parts
  • Intimate images of a person under 18 years old

Offenders are guilty of revenge porn if they knowingly distribute these types of images without the consent of the photographed person. Also, if the offender knew that the images were supposed to remain private, but they send them out anyway, they will be convicted accordingly.

Guilty parties will be charged with a Class 4 felony, punishable with a prison term of one to three years and a fine of up to $25,000.

New Amendment to the Law

When intimate photos of a person are distributed to people who were never supposed to see them, the victim can suffer more than just invasion of privacy:

  • Reputation can be harmed
  • If the images went to a boss or co-workers, the victim can lose their job
  • Younger victims in school can experience bullying
  • If put on the internet, the private photos will never go away and can harm a victim’s future goals - college, political aspirations, etc.

The humiliation and other repercussions a victim can experience because of revenge porn are why Illinois now allows those people to collect economic, emotional damages, and punitive damages.

The victim must report the crime and press charges within two years of the incident.

Offenders can defend the charges by proving - or attempting to prove - that they were not the ones that distributed the intimate images of the victim.

Contact an Elgin, IL Criminal Defense Attorney

Felony sex convictions come with a lot of punishments that will change a person’s life forever. Aside from prison and monetary fines, some sex charges come with a mandatory registration on the sex offender list. The lawyers of the Law Office of Brian J. Mirandola can help defend from serious punishments. To schedule a free consultation with a Kane County felony defense attorney, call our office at 847-488-0889.

 

Sources:

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/documents/072000050K11-23.5.htm

https://www.huffpost.com/entry/illinois-revenge-porn_n_6396436

https://www.nbcchicago.com/news/local/chicago-politics/new-illinois-laws-going-into-effect-in-2020/2191493/

Last modified on

Posted on in Felonies

IL defense lawyerThe state of Illinois classifies breaking and entering as a burglary charge regardless of if there were stolen items or not. It is a crime that needs only intent to commit another crime in order to be punishable as a felony.

Illinois law also charges breaking and entering crimes for more than just buildings or households. Burglary can be committed against trailers, aircraft, boats, cars, and public buildings (i.e. schools).

Understanding the Law

Burglary is charged against an offender when they knowingly - and without permission - enter a home, car, etc… of someone else with the intention of committing theft or another felony crime.

If the offender is found without having caused damage to the property and without taking any possessions, they will be charged with a Class 3 felony. Punishments for this crime include a fine of $25,000 and a jail sentence of no more than five years.

Charges become elevated depending on the circumstances of the burglary:

  • Class 2 felony is charged if damage has been done to the property. Punishable by a $25,000 fine and a jail sentence of no more than seven years.
  • Class 1 felony is charged if the burglary has been committed against a school, daycare facility, or place of worship. Punishable by a $25,000 fine and a jail sentence of no more than 15 years.

A lesser Class 4 felony can be charged against any offender caught in possession of tools that can be used in a breaking and entering crime. These tools consist of:

  • Key
  • Crowbar or other device
  • Explosives
  • Lock picks
  • Slim jims

Possession of burglary tools is punishable by a $25,000 fine and a jail sentence of no more than three years.

Burglary Versus Home Invasion

Illinois law has separate punishments for burglary and home invasion because they are essentially different crimes. Residential burglary is entering a person’s dwelling place without permission with the intent to commit another felony.

This crime is usually committed either when no one is home or by the offender attempting to gain entry by tricking the homeowner into thinking they are someone who requires entry into the house.

In comparison, home invasion is a more threatening crime in which an offender - knowing a person(s) is at home - forcibly breaks into the home with the intent to harm the homeowner with a deadly weapon. Home invasion is a Class X felony punishable with a prison term of 30 years with the possibility to add years depending on the circumstances of the crime.

Contact an Elgin, IL Criminal Defense Attorney

There are ways to defend against false charges of burglary that include mistake of fact; a person who was given permission to be on the property could be mistaken as a burglar. Strategies for avoiding serious penalties should be discussed with a knowledgeable attorney. The lawyers from the Law Offices of Brian J. Mirandola are ready to defend against any false charges. To schedule an appointment with a Kane County criminal defense lawyer, call our office at 847-488-0889.

 

Source:

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs4.asp?DocName=072000050HArt%2E+19&ActID=1876&ChapterID=0&SeqStart=63000000&SeqEnd=63800000

 

Last modified on

Posted on in Felonies

IL defense attorneyThe state of Illinois has multiple laws that cover kidnapping and other similar crimes that relate to kidnapping. The general definition as written by Illinois law says that kidnapping is the act of taking, restraining, and hiding another person against their will.

This victim does not have to be a child, though punishments for abducting a child are more severe. It is also more common for the victim to not know their abductor, but crimes such as parental kidnapping do exist in Illinois.

Regardless of the relationship to the victim, abductors who are caught can face felony charges and be punished by means of jail time and monetary fines.

What Types of Kidnapping Does Illinois Punish?

The most common type of abduction is a random stranger encounter. This is when an alleged kidnapper singles out a random victim and then carries out the crime for whatever reason. Another common kidnapping happens within a broken household; a divorced person without custody of their child may attempt to kidnap the minor from the other parent to get revenge on their ex-partner.

These types of kidnappings can have specific reasons for the crime:

  • Revenge
  • Ransom
  • Sexual violations
  • Extortion
  • Human trafficking

Besides kidnapping for ransom, the above-mentioned types of kidnapping are punished as a Class 2 felony. Those convicted will face a jail term of 3-7 years and pay a fine of at most $25,000.

Aggravated kidnapping is a more serious type of abduction in which the victim is being held for ransom or the abductor used a dangerous weapon when carrying out the crime. Also, if the abductor hides their identity with a mask, they will be charged with aggravated kidnapping.

This crime sees charges elevated to a Class X felony with a prison term of 6-30 years and a fine of at most $25,000. If the court chooses - or if other felonies were committed during the kidnapping - then extra jail time of 15-25 years will be added to a sentence.

Illinois law also covers lesser crimes that relate to kidnapping including:

  • Unlawful restraint and aggravated unlawful restraint
  • Child abduction
  • Luring a minor
  • Aiding or abetting a child abduction
  • Harboring a runaway

How to Defend Allegations of Kidnapping

The most common strategy to avoid a kidnapping conviction is to prove that the alleged victim gave consent or wanted to be with the person that supposedly kidnapped them. For adult victims, this can be easy to prove, but when the victim is a child, the court is less likely to believe this explanation.

If the child is under 13 years of age or has a mental disability, the court will find that they are not capable of giving consent to another person to take them away from home or family.

Other defense strategies include proving:

  • Mistake of fact
  • Insanity
  • The victim did still have free will to leave

Contact an Elgin, IL Criminal Defense Attorney

Allegations of kidnapping or any of the other Illinois laws against abduction can have serious consequences to a person. The lawyers of the Law Offices of Brian J. Mirandola can help defend the rights of anyone being wrongfully accused of kidnapping. To schedule a free consultation with a Kane County criminal defense lawyer, call our office at 847-488-0889.

 

Source:

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs4.asp?ActID=1876&ChapterID=53&SeqStart=12200000&SeqEnd=13600000

Last modified on

IL defense lawyerSexual assault is a felony crime in Illinois and can be considered a crime of domestic violence if the abuser is related to their victim.

Illinois law defines sexual assault as one person commits an act of sexual penetration without the consent of the other person involved. Another type of sexual assault is called “statutory rape” in which a person over the age of 18 years old engages in a sexual act with a minor - under 18 years old. Even if the minor gives consent, they are not considered old enough to be able to give proper consent and the adult can be charged with sexual assault.

According to Illinois Law

Illinois legislation reports that most cases of sexual assault are not even reported, let alone convictions made. Approximately only one in five reported cases end in a conviction; the number is so low because of the impact in which sexual assault takes on the victim.

Victims tend to face long-term mental scars after an attack. Not all of them are able to relive the trauma in order to bring their abuser to justice. Other cases do not end in conviction due to lack of evidence or false accusations.

Those that are convicted, however, face severe penalties:

  • First offenders are charged with a Class 1 felony punishable by a prison term of four to 15 years.
  • Second offenders are charged with a Class X felony punishable by either a lifetime prison sentence or a term of 30-60 years.
  • Aggravated sexual assault - if the offender uses a weapon, the victim is under 8 years old, or the victim is mentally disabled - results in a Class X felony punishable by a mandatory prison term of six to 30 years with the possibility of being extended to a life sentence.

Additionally, anyone convicted of sexual assault is required to register as a sex offender. In Illinois, a sex offender is required to register annually for a 10-year term. An offender only needs to register for 10 years unless they are labeled a “sexual predator” and then they will need to register for the remainder of their life.

Ways to Defend Allegations of Sexual Assault

Alleged sex offenders should hire an attorney who can investigate their case and avoid false convictions. It is not uncommon for victims to make a mistake and identify a wrong suspect during the investigation. Other times, a victim can falsely accuse an alleged abuser of the crime in order to get them into trouble.

Whatever the case, a lawyer will be able to learn the truth and build a strong defense:

  • There was consent: a lawyer could be able to prove that the defendant and their alleged victim consensually engaged in “hardcore” or “violent” sexual contact.
  • Mistaken identity: if an accused abuser shares physical qualities with a lot of other people, they can be mistaken for the actual criminal. A defense would be to find an alibi who can account for the accused’s whereabouts during the incident.
  • Insanity: a lawyer could prove that their client is not in the right state of mind to know right from wrong.

Contact an Elgin, IL Criminal Defense Attorney

A sexual assault conviction will change a person’s life forever. If the accused is an innocent person, they will have to face punishments unnecessarily. The lawyers of the Law Offices of Brian J. Mirandola are capable of making sure anyone accused of sexual assault can avoid a negative outcome to their case. To schedule a free consultation with a Kane County criminal defense lawyer, call our office at 847-488-0889.

 

Sources:

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/fulltext.asp?DocName=072000050K11-1.20

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=3731&ChapterID=54

https://www.isp.state.il.us/sor/faq.cfm?CFID=146006236&CFTOKEN=7e765f6e95c15f6c-3D3AA5CD-D893-F221-E6E5D902A39087CE&jsessionid=ec30dd33bd14bbd52e956c26a622b604f405#register

Last modified on

Posted on in Felonies

IL defense lawyerIn the state of Illinois, there is no specific “grand theft auto” law. So when someone steals a car or other motor vehicle, it is included in Illinois’ general theft law. This means, if someone is caught in possession of a stolen vehicle, they will face felony charges and all the punishments that come with them.

Defining Vehicular Theft

As stated above, the act of stealing a motor vehicle falls under the Illinois Theft Statute which includes several incriminating acts:

  • Taking unauthorized control of another person’s property.
  • Using deception to take control of another person’s property.
  • Threatening the owner to take control of their property.
  • Knowingly taking property that has already been stolen from another person.

In the cases of vehicular theft, the automobile is the property that cannot be taken control of. The exception is if the owner gives permission for the alleged thief to borrow the vehicle for an agreed upon period of time.

Punishments for Vehicular Theft

Stealing a car will result in a felony theft charge. A conviction of this nature will result in fines and possibly even jail time depending on the value of the product stolen.

  • A Class 3 felony is given when the value range of the automobile stolen is $500-$10,000 and the punishment is up to five years in prison.
  • A Class 2 felony is given when the value range of the automobile stolen is $10,000-$100,000 and deception is used to take the car. If the car is a government-owned vehicle with a value less than $10,000, the alleged thief will be given this charge. The punishment is up to seven years in prison.
  • A Class 1 felony is given when the value range of a government-owned automobile is $10,000-$100,000. For general cars, this charge is given when the value range of the automobile is $100,000-$500,000. The action is punishable by up to 15 years in prison.
  • A Class 1 non-probationary felony is given when the value range of the automobile stolen is $500,000-$1,000,000.
  • A Class X Felony is given when the value of a regular car stolen exceeds $1,000,000 and when the value of a government-owned car exceeds $100,000. The punishment for this charge is up to 30 years in prison.

Defending Against Vehicular Theft Charges

Mistakes can be made and the best way to defend against vehicular theft charges is to prove that the alleged thief is, in fact, the legal owner of the vehicle. If the alleged thief is not the owner, then they must prove that they had permission from the owner to take the car and return it at a certain time.

There are also times when a car is stolen by one person but then is sold to another person who does not know that the vehicle was stolen. That person would have to prove that they had no knowledge of the theft in order to avoid a felony charge.

Contact an Elgin, IL Vehicle Theft Defense Lawyer

Cases of theft are often more complicated than they may appear. In order to be as safe as possible, you will need an attorney to help build your case and examine all evidence so that you are not wrongfully punished. The lawyers of the Law Offices of Brian J. Mirandola are ready to help you through your case. To schedule a free consultation with a Kane County criminal defense attorney, call 847-488-0889.

 

Sources:

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/fulltext.asp?DocName=072000050K16-1

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/documents/062500050K4-103.2.htm

Last modified on
Avvo Illinois State Bar Association Kane COunty Bar Association
Back to Top